A NEW FOUND HAPPINESS: MY NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

I have always been one to be positive. During my freshman year of college, I had a major break down. I was failing academically, meaning that I wasn’t able to run collegiate track and field until I got my act together.  Eventually, I ended up getting it together; I made dean’s list and was eligible to run again! I felt like I was on top of the world. I take a look backat everything that I went through and am thankful that I did because it’s made me into the person I am today! Which is why I have taken on a new perspective of my life; happiness is a choice. Happiness isn’t something that will come to you overnight or by receiving material things. I thought it did, but I was sadly mistaken. Now, I couldn’t be happier. There are days when things could be better, but overall, I lead a productive and healthy life and I try to spread positive vibes any time I can.

Being that it is a new year, I thought I would try something different than what I usually do. What motivated me most is the fact that this is a big year for me; I will be graduating from college and a lot of other exciting things will happen along the way. I get excited just thinking about it! I wanted to share a few of my New Year’s resolutions to inspire and to spread some positivity your way!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 1: One goal that I have already started the process of is the HAPPINESS JAR project. I saw it being done by a YouTuber who goes by the name of Meghan Reinks. I saw her do it a couple of years ago, and I thought it was cool. It takes about 35 seconds to do, but what it brings me is enormous–not only the pleasure of finding the good moment in each day (for even the horrible days have one least-bad moment) but the lasting benefits of recording that moment forever.

Every single day, at the end of the day, I will grab pre-cut strips (I measured and cut myself, I used white printer paper) of paper and I write down upon it the happiest moment of that day. And I put the date on it, and then I fold it up and stick it in the jar. And that’s the whole practice. Once New Year’s Eve rolls around at the end of this year, I will read all 365 ‘happy’ notes. If you love to appreciate the little things in life; which, to me, equate to the big things in life, I highly recommend you completing the HAPPINESS JAR project for yourself!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 2: As I prepare to graduate college, I will need a big girl job to eventually support myself. I would like to have my own place within the next year and half (all by myself; no boyfriend, just me) and be financially free to take vacations, pay off student loan debt and to  pay my bills. I started job searching back in November of 2015, so I am pretty serious about this and I have no doubt that I will find a job that I deserve.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 3: Buy a new car! I don’t own one, so I would like to…so you know, I can get to my big girl job lol.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 4: End my last eligible track season on a high note. I will most likely never run competitively again unless I do some magical things this season. I had a minor little set back with a concussion, but I have had setbacks in the past, and I did things that I never thought I could achieve while being injured.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 5: Begin my YouTube channel. I always get asked questions on beauty, lifestyle and professional. I thought starting YouTube would be a fun and somewhat easy way for me to have a side thing while working a full-time job!

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION 6: Purchase a piece of jewelry from Tiffany’s. It seems so simple, but I would love to purchase for myself as gift to myself. I think purchasing it would signify a monumental moment in my life. Hopefully, the next piece of jewelry from Tiffany’s I receive will be an engagement ring ;).

Those are a few of my resolutions that I would like to accomplish. I have so much more, but thought that these were the main ones that I would like to accomplish in 2016. What are your goals for 2016?

IMG_0344

SIgnature

Leave a Reply

