LIFE OF A TRACK ATHLETE: MY LAST INDOOR CHAMPIONSHIPS

I WON MY FIRST EVER INDOOR CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIPS TITLE IN THE 60 METER DASH. I am still in awe with how seamless the entire weekend went. Although it was my last indoor conference championships I will ever have the honor of competing in as a collegiate athlete. Winning a title was a great way to go out. Not to mention, I made finals in the 200-meter dash and was 13th coming into the meet. I didn’t do as well in the 200 as I would have liked to, but winning in the 60 made everything that much better! With all that being said, as I reflect on my entire indoor season there are some major lessons I’ve learned about life and the sport I love so much.

Below I have carefully compiled a list of things that my last indoor season taught me:

  • It made me have patience. The entire season I was stagnant. I felt like I was not really going anywhere. Each race it was just the same time over and over. When I finally got to indoor championships, I realized that this is where it counts. Not at the meets that I train through at, but where you will be remembered forever.

IMG_1064

  • Showing good sportsmanship helps with the nerves. For most of my career  I have never been one to befriend my competitors (I have a former teammate to thank for that) but for some reason this past weekend I did and I don’t regret it one bit. The women that I competed against at indoor PSAC’s are some of the most talented I have ever had the pleasure of competing against, it was truly an honor.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

  •  Establishing a fun, uplifting and strong bond with your teammates is beneficial. I had so much fun rooming with my teammate, Amanda. We had such a ball. But not only her, but I got a chance to know my teammates on a deeper level than just seeing them in passing at practice. With the sport of track and field in some ways it is a team sport, but we all have our respective events so we’re not always together all the time. It was a nice change of pace to get to sit down with my teammates over dinner and just get to know them better.

IMG_1085

  • Knowing you gave your best effort can be very satisfying. I missed nationals by 3 spots. But you know what? I can only be happy because I know that I put my heart, body and soul into every race I ran. That doesn’t take away the fact that I’m no longer a national caliber athlete. It just means that someone else in the country decided to run an even better well-executed race than me.

 

  • My coach has continuously set me up to succeed. At times I get down. Sometimes I question why I even decided to stick it out with this sport, but one of my number one fans on and off the track has been my coach. So, after I won my 60-meter title after being the runner up for two consecutive years, I was emotional and he was the first person there upon completing my race. I will be forever grateful for the persistence and drive my coach has instilled in me. Most importantly, he knew I could do it before I or anyone else did.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

These are some of the things that I learned from this past weekend and I am hopeful that I will be able to make my last debut as a Marauder at the 2016 NCAA outdoor track and field championships and hopefully with some of my teammates along side me!

Read more about me here:

“Multi-talented Allen Leaving her Legacy” — http://bit.ly/1LXBrtk

“Allen Named USTFCCCA Division II All-Region” — http://bit.ly/1p35wD4

champ

SIgnature

Leave a Reply

