PRAYING ALL THE TIME

BIBLE THOUGHT: “THEY ALL JOINED TOGETHER CONSTANTLY IN PRAYER, ALONG WITH THE WOMEN AND MARY THE MOTHER OF JESUS, AND WITH HIS BROTHERS” (ACTS 1:14, NASB).

READ 2 TIMOTHY 1:3-12 for a better application of this lesson.

WHAT BRINGS you to your knees before the Father? Usually, it is a deeply felt need for God’s deliverance and direction. We can’t live life on our knees physically, but we can always be on our knees spiritually — in our heart and in our head.

Do you talk to yourself? You don’t have to admit it. But it has its uses; we can cultivate talking to ourselves about God. Say to yourself, “I need the LORD.” “Jesus is with me.” “God’s mercy covers me.” “He weeps with me.” Small sentences that can be said in our heads to remind us of the unseen truth. It can become a habitual response to life. It is spiritual kneeling before the Father.

You also have memorized verses that you can bring to mind… even if you haven’t, why not start now? “The LORD is my shepherd.” This is another way of kneeling, of keeping things straight. Focusing on Christ prevents loneliness and hopelessness. Walking, waiting on a ride, waiting on a meeting to end, waiting on the waiter– we can be saying our small truths silently so we know where we are, who we are, whose we are.

Sing “Into My Heart”

Prayer: LORD of heaven and earth, I cannot organize or purify my life. I need Your LOVE, Your BLOOD, Your LEADERSHIP to do anything good with this day. Help me focus my mind and heart. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

– EMILY Y. LEMLEY, co-editor

Devotion pulled from POWER, a daily devotional magazine.

Leave a Reply

