STIRRED TO GIVE

BIBLE THOUGHT: “BUT STORE UP FOR YOURSELVES TREASURES IN HEAVEN, WHERE NEITHER MOTH NOR RUST DESTROYS, AND WHERE THIEVES DO NOT BREAK IN OR STEAL; FOR WHERE YOUR TREASURE IS, THERE WILL YOUR HEART BE ALSO” (MATTHEW 6:20-21, NASB).

READ EXODUS 35:20-29 for a better application of this lesson.

HAS YOUR heart ever swelled with such love for someone that you were overwhelmed with a need to give that person a wonderful gift? The Israelites had been given a second chance! Even after they had given their jewelry to be shaped into a golden calf, even after they had worshiped the calf, turning their backs on the One who had delivered them from bondage, the Lord God had forgiven them and renewed His covenant with them. No wonder their hearts were stirred to bring gifts for His tabernacle.

At times I am filled with the same emotions that the Israelites felt. How many times have you experienced peace from God and been keenly reminded of His forgiveness? How many times have you been given a second chance? Like the Israelites, my heart swells with the need to give Him gifts. But at other times, I am tempted to worship the gift rather than the Giver. I begin to think of the gifts I am been given. My heart is stirred more by the pain of giving up the gift than the joy of expressing love to the Giver. We can learn from Israel’s generosity.

Sing “We Give Thee But Thine Own

Prayer: Father, thank You for loving me and for Your eternal patience with me. Forgive me for loving Your gifts too much and loving You too little. Please accept my life as a gift to You today. Through Jesus, my example, I pray. Amen. 

– BEVERLY LOGUE, Mercred, California

Devotion pulled from POWER, a daily devotional magazine.

Leave a Reply

