A LETTER TO MY MOMMA

Dear Mom –

Thank you for all you do for me and our family.

Thank you for picking up after all of us and screaming at the top of your lungs for us to clean up after ourselves (haha).

I know that you could spend most of your day picking up the things that we leave around between coming home from work or school and going to bed. I just wanted you to know that I appreciate it!

Thanks for cooking for us, I know it takes a lot of planning on your part to brave the crowd and go to the grocery store, to read labels and pick the best foods to keep our bodies healthy. I know it takes a lot of time and energy to put the food into the cart, out of the cart to pay, into the cart to the car, out of the car, into the house, out of the bags and then into the pantry; all before you even cook us dinner.

I know that when you have rules and consequences, it’s because you love us, thanks for setting limits and disciplining me even though it’s not a small feat and exhausting. It has helped me learn and to establish good character.

Thanks for the years of cleaning up my boogers, my throw up and wiping my hiney. Thanks for teaching me to do those things for myself; and for teaching me to tie my shoes, get dressed on my own and to use a real cup with no cover! I really needed you to help me grow, Mom!

Thank you for teaching me to be organized (Erin Condren, washi tape, planners and all), to do my homework, clean my room and to practice the flute. I have learned to be responsible which helps me feel positive about myself. Thanks for pushing me even when I complain and argue with you.

Thank you for not letting me quit the team when I wanted to. Sticking with it taught me to be a good sport and that a strong commitment is the single most important trait that a person can have; to follow through, and to persevere. I have found those skills very helpful in my success.

Thank you for comforting me through heartbreaks. And thank you for always answering your phone even if the call only lasted 30 seconds because I needed to know the answer to  a silly question!

Thank you for giving me everything, literally. You never told me no I appreciate that generosity. I know kids can be expensive and demanding.

From supporting me emotionally through my awkward middle school phase, to sacrificing your personal time after your long days at work to talk me through problems when no one else cared, to supporting me financially through college, you have always been there.

You have sacrificed so much in order to give me a better life than you had when you were a kid.

Thanks you for always believing in me. Life has been challenging and there have been times when I’ve felt like giving up, when things were not going my way. Each time, you were there to remind me of my worth as a human being.

You encouraged me to keep reaching for the unreachable and to never settle for anything less than what you know in your heart I deserve. No matter how bizarre my goals are– you always tell me to go after what makes me happy.

As I get older, I realize more and more how much you have done for me and continue to do every day.

Thank you for showing me grace when I didn’t deserve it. Perhaps it is easier for me to take my frustrations out on you than anyone else in this world because you love me limitlessly and unconditionally. There were times when I was a total brat to you; I was rude, selfish and unkind. Still, you loved me anyway, and for that, I am forever grateful.

Thank you for your unconditional love and friendship. You are my best friend and you always will be. I’ve seen your love when you attended my sporting events, posted on Facebook about how proud you are of me and when you comforted me at times that life became a little too tough to handle. Not to mention, you showing me how to love others and how to love them well.

Thank you for believing in me, encouraging me to do my best and to try new things. I love myself and I am proud of myself. I have confidence and believe in myself because of you. I need to make mistakes and make failures to grow, so thanks for being there when I’m down, and for helping me find my way back up.

Thank you for modeling how to be respectful, kind to others and patient with anyone that walks in my path. I have and always will look up to you! Even though I don’t always LISTEN to you, I do always hear you. I hear how you use good manners, how you listen to a friend, how you laugh with (or at) grandma.

Thank you for being there to talk through problems and to ask you questions, any questions. Thanks for answering honestly about literally everything in life. I ask you where something is even though I know you probably have no idea where it is, but you take the time to help me retrace my steps and find what I was looking for.

Mom, thanks for driving me all over town and state to friend’s houses, tryouts, activities, performances, games, concerts, auditions, practices, and college! I know I wouldn’t be able to do all these fun things without you. And thanks for driving home and back when I forgot something at the house while I was in college. Thanks for showing up and cheering for me during my track meets and cheerleading competitions. Always intently waiting for me to compete with your camera or iPhone in hand.

Thanks for not letting anyone get in your way when getting your degrees. You make me so proud to be your daughter because you push past adversity with such grace!

Thanks for volunteering at my school, for kissing me goodbye, even in front of my friends and for hugging me (and then tickling me when I’ve hugged you a few minutes too long).

Thanks for noticing when I do and things, like when I help around the house or make the right choice. I really like when you notice the good things I do, it makes me want to do more!

Thanks for being the coolest most hippest mom I know! We can bump Rihanna or Beyonce and you actually know the words!

You’ve taught me and are still teaching me life skills, you’re helping me learn how to become a happy and healthy adult everyday. You giving me limits and structure but also space and confidence to step out toward independence.

You’re teaching me that my attitude and the way I look makes all the difference.

I love you. Thank you for loving me in all the ways that you do.

Love,

Your Favorite Daughter

Leave a Reply

