STATE OF TRANSITION

Last Monday, I hit a milestone! It has been exactly a year since my blog was birthed. I got the crazy idea to start Fasst and Fab during my last official “summer break” of college because I wanted a challenge. Some people may think this is odd, as the average person does not want to inflict themselves with more work, especially as they prepare to start their final year of college. But since starting Fasst and Fab, I have grown in ways that I never thought imaginableMy purpose, I realized, is this; to encourage people to learn from my experiences. I want to be a resource for individuals who are struggling with day-to-day nuances. If others find what I am doing to be inspiring, then that’s great! This blog is an outlet for others to seek inspiration and positivity amongst a negative world. And if I can provide that by exposing just a bit of myself, then that’s alright with me!

I have gone through so much in the past 2 months, and boy has it been a whirlwind! I have found myself in a constant state of transition. From graduating college to being in a solid relationship, and getting the opportunity to travel – all before beginning the newest chapter of my life at a company right out of college.

Graduating

One of the most liberating and monumental moments of my life was graduating college. I had one of those “pinch-me-is-this-real” moments while I sat with over 1,000 of my peers who, like me, had gone through the struggle of finding their place in the world and meeting constant deadlines presented by multiple professors at a time. I felt a sense of accomplishment and I was very proud of myself. While I sat and listened to all of speakers go up and have their time to send the Class of 2016 off, I began to get emotional as I suspect anyone would during such a momentous time! Just like that, a few seconds on the stage concluded one chapter of my life.

My New Job

During the last few months of my college career, I began aggressively looking for a full-time job. I did not begin applying for jobs until January 2016, however, I began the process in November 2015. I felt that it was important that I take the approach that I did so that I was ahead of the game. It also gave me a sense of security knowing that I had secured a job exactly 2 months before graduation.

I work at an integrated marketing agency who is also a member of the 4A’s association, giving me a tremendous amount of resources to use in addition to the experienced professional’s I work with on a day-to-day basis. Since beginning my journey as a working adult on June 6th, I have learned so much in such a short amount of time. A characteristic of the company that drew me in was how they are truly an integrated agency. The company began as a production firm, but expanded into account services, business development, creative, and interactive/web development. We are the only agency in our area to provide all of those services which is why we win such great clientele. I am so glad that I was able to land a job that I like with a degree that coincides with the work that I do!

My Relationship

In keeping with the theme of being in a state of transition I have been dating a guy in the Air Force for over 4 months (it’ll be 5 months on the 26th!). At the moment, Trey is deployed and is expected to return in late September, beginning of October. Before he left, we were able to spend much needed time together. We traveled to the beach, I met his parents and friends for the first time and we visited the countries capital, D.C.

In the beginning months of us dating, he expressed how much he loved to travel and so do I! We have much in common and he has been a blessing. There have been challenges in our relationship, such as, the distance that always seems to be between us, but it doesn’t seem to bother him. There is a concerted effort between the two of us to make sure that distance does not get in the way of our relationship. While he gets the opportunity to travel the world, I am working on myself and ensuring that I am flourishing as an individual.

In the short amount of time we’ve known one another, he has gotten me through some pretty tough times where I was unsure of myself or a particular situation and he has always been there to lift me up, put a smile my face and tell me “everything is going to be alright, J.” And ya know, sometimes you need that. You need someone to tell you that it’s going to be alright because it will!

The only constant in life is change and I’m learning to embrace it. The hardest part for some may be adapting, but as long as you realize that change allows for growth and the fruition of all things, adapting isn’t so hard. I have learned that resisting change is disabling God from giving you something larger than what you thought you wanted. Change is trusting God.

Are you in a state of transition? Share your experience in the comments or on social media @fasstandfab!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

